By danielle


Last week, we had the pleasure of going behind-the-scenes to watch eight esteemed jurors select the winners of the 2nd Annual Odegard Award for Excellence in Rug Design. The competition was created to show student designers how combining modern designs, with traditional hand knotting techniques, can increase awareness and respect for the legacy of textile and carpet weaving. The results were stunning – and yielded over 400 entries.  The prestigious jury, which included: industrial designer Stephen Burks, textile designer Jack Lenor Larsen, Museum of Arts and Design Director Holly Hotchner, and Chief Curator and Vice President David McFadden, fashion designer Mary McFadden, Odegard founder Stephanie Odegard, artist Michele Oka Doner, and architect Calvin Tsao, had their work cut out for them and spent the better part of the afternoon collectively reviewing the impressive work. According to David McFadden, “The designs submitted for this year’s competition, like all such open calls, brought together a mixture of innovative and unremarkable designs. The winnowing process resulted in two dozen designs that had real potential for production. It will be exciting to learn which designs received the judges’s highest accolades, and an even greater pleasure to see the winning designs when they have been produced.”

The winners will be officially announced on June 7, 2010 at the Museum of Arts and Design in NYC.

The esteemed jury...L-R: Stephen Burks, Jack Lenor Larsen, Mary McFadden, Stephanie Odegard, Michele Oka Doner, Holly Hotchner, David McFadden and Calvin Tsao

The judges started with 400 entries and carefully narrowed them down to three overall winners and judge's favorites.

What an honor it would be to have your work personally judged by the veritable textile designer Jack Lenor Larsen!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.